Lists of third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and of those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement

00000

A) List of third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders

1. States

AFGHANISTAN

ALBANIA

ALGERIA

ANGOLA

ARMENIA

AZERBAIJAN

BAHRAIN

BANGLADESH

BELARUS

BELIZE

BENIN

BHUTAN

BOLIVIA

BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA

BOTSWANA

BURKINA FASO

BURMA/MYANMAR

BURUNDI

CAMBODIA

CAMEROON

CAPE VERDE

CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC

CHAD

CHINA

COLOMBIA

COMOROS

CONGO

COTE D'IVOIRE

CUBA

DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

DJIBOUTI

DOMINICA

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

ECUADOR

EGYPT

EQUATORIAL GUINEA

ERITREA

ETHIOPIA

FIJI

GABON

GAMBIA

GEORGIA

GHANA

GRENADA

GUINEA

GUINEA-BISSAU

GUYANA

HAITI

INDIA

INDONESIA

IRAN

IRAQ

JAMAICA

JORDAN

KAZAKHSTAN

KENYA

KIRIBATI

KUWAIT

KYRGYZSTAN

LAOS

LEBANON

LESOTHO

LIBERIA

LIBYA

MADAGASCAR

MALAWI

MALDIVES

MALI

MARSHALL ISLANDS

MAURITANIA

MICRONESIA

MOLDOVA

MONGOLIA

MOROCCO

MOZAMBIQUE

NAMIBIA

NAURU

NEPAL

NIGER

NIGERIA

NORTH KOREA

NORTHERN MARIANAS (ISLANDS)

OMAN

PAKISTAN

PALAU

PAPUA NEW GUINEA

PERU

PHILIPPINES

QATAR

RUSSIA

RWANDA

SAMOA

SAO TOME AND PRINCIPE

SAUDI ARABIA

SENEGAL

SIERRA LEONE

SOLOMON ISLANDS

SOMALIA

SOUTH AFRICA

SRI LANKA

ST LUCIA

ST VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES

SUDAN

SURINAME

SWAZILAND

SYRIA

TAJIKISTAN

TANZANIA

THAILAND

TIMOR-LESTE

TOGO

TONGA

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

TUNISIA

TURKEY

TURKMENISTAN

TUVALU

UGANDA

UKRAINE

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

UZBEKISTAN

VANUATU

VIETNAM

YEMEN

ZAMBIA

ZIMBABWE

2. Entities and territorial authorities not recognised as States by at least one Member State

KOSOVO

TAIWAN

PALESTINIAN AUTHORITY

- 3. <u>British citizens who are not nationals of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the purposes of community law</u>
 - British Overseas Territories Citizens who do not have the right of abode in the United Kingdom
 - British Overseas Citizens
 - British Subjects who do not have the right of abode in the United Kingdom
 - British Protected Persons

B) List of third countries whose nationals are exempted from holding a visa when crossing the external borders

1. States

ANDORRA

ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA

ARGENTINA

AUSTRALIA

BAHAMA

BARBADOS

BRAZIL

BRUNEI DARUSSALAM

CANADA

CHILE

COSTA RICA

CROATIA

EL SALVADOR

FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA¹

GUATEMALA

HOLY SEE (STATE OF THE VATICAN)

HONDURAS

ISRAEL

JAPAN

MALAYSIA

MAURITIU

MEXICO

MONACO

MONTENEGRO²

NEW ZEALAND

NICARAGUA

PANAMA

PARAGUAY

SAN MARINO

SEYCHELLES

SERBIA³

SINGAPORE

SOUTH KOREA

In accordance with December

¹ In accordance with Regulation (EC) 1244/2009 amending Regulation (EC) No 539/2001, nationals of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia holding biometric passports are exempt from the visa obligation (OJ L 336, 18.12.2009, p. 1); the VFA continues to apply to holders of non-biometric passports.

² In accordance with Regulation (EC) 1244/2009 amending Regulation 539/2001, nationals of Montenegro holding biometric passports are exempt from the visa obligation (OJ L 336, 18.12.2009, p. 1); as non-biometric Montenegrin passports are no longer valid, the VFA is no longer applied in practice.

³ In accordance with Regulation (EC) 1244/2009 amending Regulation (EC) No 539/2001, nationals of Serbia holding biometric passports (excluding holders of passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate [in Serbian: *Koordinaciona uprava*]) are exempt from the visa obligation (OJ L 336, 18.12.2009, p. 1); the VFA continues to apply to holders of non-biometric passport holders and holders of passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate.

ST KITTS AND NEVIS UNITED STATES OF AMERICA **URUGUAY VENEZUELA**

Special Administrative Regions of the People's Republic of China 2.

HONG KONG S.A.R. ¹ MACAO S.A.R. ²

British citizens who are not nationals of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern 3. <u>Ireland for the purposes of community law</u>

British Nationals (Overseas

1

The visa exemption applies only to holders of a "Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" passport. The visa exemption applies only to holders of a "Região Administrativa Especial de Macau" passport.